• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

ChrisHurn

Advice? Programming RPG's with DX8.

This topic is 5237 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/1931841098/qid=1082001419/sr=1-1/ref=sr_1_1/002-8596881-2079250?v=glance&s=books I've been keeping an eye on this book for a long time, and I want to know if this will suit me. I know you're probably sick of newbies with questions like "omglol i no C++ plz teche me 2 maek an rpg!111" but anyway: I have been programming in Visual Basic for about 4 years, and am able to code 2D RPG's, platform games etc...with VB. I understand this book uses C++, so I started learning it about 8-10 months ago. I can write basic programs, and have recently been using SDL to make simple games. What I am asking here, is, how experienced will I need to be for this book? maybe someone has this book and can give some advice. I would do this in VB, but I would rather learn C++, as I prefer that language, over VB. Ultimately, I want to be able to create an FF7 style game. (Pre-rendered backgrounds...similar gameplay etc..) Don't get me wrong, I'm not a little kid who hasnt tried pong before jumping into something this big. I understand the complexity of making a Role Playing Game, and am willing to work as hard as I have to, to achieve this. Also, for someone who has the book - what kind of stuff is in there? maybe a screenshot/description of the sample games etc..? I'm interested to know what I am buying before I buy it. (Since over here in New Zealand, things are usually twice the price or more..compared to USD. Thanks a lot. -Chris <SPAN CLASS=editedby>[edited by - ChrisHurn on April 14, 2004 12:11:54 AM]</SPAN> <SPAN CLASS=editedby>[edited by - ChrisHurn on April 14, 2004 12:13:15 AM]</SPAN> <SPAN CLASS=editedby>[edite