• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Mortanis

Books for learning C#

This topic is 5153 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I know this may not be the best place, but i've seen the type of people here when i was trying to learn C++, and i think the best advice can be found. That said, I need a book to help me learn C#. I have Visual Studio .Net on my work computer, so i've got that base covered. I'm versed in VBScript and ASP, as well as basic Visual Basic and a lot of Cold Fusion - so i'm no novice to programming or dynamic server side content. Can someone suggest a book or three for me that would be up my alley to facilitate my learning? Thanks in advance. [edit]I should note I also know the very basics of C++. Up to chapter 14 or so, with pointers, inheritance and the like. [edited by - Mortanis on April 14, 2004 12:36:24 AM]

Advertisement
You might want to look into the book Beginning Visual C# by Wrox.
This book makes sure it lays down a strong foundation from the start. I learned C# from this book alone and from this book alone I was able to extend my knowledge of the .NET Architecture without even using a book and instead just looking it up on MSDN to get an idea.

I recommend C#: How to Program by Deitel and Deitel. It''s a textbook so reading it can be arduous at some points, but they do a good job of making it interesting through most of the book, they cover a wide range of topics and also do (the main point) a thorough job of actually teaching you the material.

O''Reilley and Deitel books line my shelf and I''m especially fond of the Deitel''s C# for Experienced Programmers.

• Advertisement

Important Information

By using GameDev.net, you agree to our community Guidelines, Terms of Use, and Privacy Policy.