Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

[java] java IDE?

This topic is 5023 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Well I am registered for a java class next fall and also a lab to go along with it and a friend gave me the course book so I could get a jump start. I have never used or even looked at java before. I am not sure what is the best free ide out there. I have heard of a couple such as netbeans and forte for java. The book comes packaged with forte for java but you dont have to use that for the class. Anyone recommend a good free ide for a beginner to the language. I have forte installed and all of the different optioons looks overwhelming to say the least.

Eclipse has gotten some very good reviews; it''s a very nice system, but I haven''t used it enough to comment either way. Not sure how good it would be for a beginner, however.

Personally, I used Scite + javac and some batch files. Doesn''t get much simpler than that, and it was enough for the simple stuff we had to write.

Netbeans is a great IDE...I use it all the time. If you want a really simple one though, check out www.textpad.com.

Eclipse is an excellent IDE. Certainly for more experienced programmers, who will appreciate its advanced refactoring ability and other features which enable you to write code quickly.

We''re not just talking method name completion here - its editor actually *knows* what you want (some of the time anyway).

The UI is not entirely intuitive, but worth it. Very powerful.

Mark

Someone on an online game recommended jbuilder. I started the download before I checked here. Do you guys know anything about jbuilder or if it is suitable for a beginner?