• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Uriel

Cannot reset device

This topic is 5294 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I tried to add DEVICELOST support in my game, but Reset returns fail and i dont know what to do now. Before calling Reset on device i release all textures/surfaces/VB that uses D3DPOOL_DEFAULT memory. I also make sure that im in D3DERR_DEVICENOTRESET state. I have never done lost device handling before so im not sure what else should i release.. i have stencil shadows, env bumpmaps (i release render targets i use for env maps), DirectSound (i dont release anything here). Please shed some light on me...

Advertisement
After checking what stateblocks are, i can assure you that i dont use them.

I also didnt create any additional swap chains.
I do use stencil buffer but i dont create any stencil surface..

Which error code does it return? There are five possibles, according to the DXSDK:

quote:

• D3DERR_DEVICELOST : The device has been lost but cannot be reset at this time. Therefore, rendering is not possible.
  • D3DERR_DRIVERINTERNALERROR : Internal driver error. Applications should generally shut down when receiving this error.
  • D3DERR_INVALIDCALL : The method call is invalid. For example, a method''s parameter may have an invalid value.
  • D3DERR_OUTOFVIDEOMEMORY : Direct3D does not have enough display memory to perform the operation.
  • E_OUTOFMEMORY : Direct3D could not allocate sufficient memory to complete the call.

Do you use ID3DXFont? If so it needs to be released and reset when you reset your deivce. It has its own methods OnLostDevice() and OnResetDevice().

Guest Anonymous Poster
What does the debug runtime tell you ? It should give you a hint which kind of resource hasn''t been released yet.