Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

.NET mainframe and games??

This topic is 4983 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

what exactly are the benifits of makeing a managed c++ (.NET mainframe) game is a unmanaged c++ game better or easier?? complete noob please don''t shoot me

Managed is supposed to be a easier, and a teeny bit slower. It only works in the .net framework. Unmanaged works with any C++ compiler, but is rather hard. You get raw speed though.

Memory leak errors are virtually eliminated when you write managed (.Net) code. Lots of stuff is handled for you, plus the type system is less haphazard and inconsistent between languages, not to mention other nifty things like garbage collection and stuff.

Since I started using .Net and C# to write code, my productivity has increased about 500%. Although I don''t claim to have been particularly experienced with C++/MFC...

Snowman | Ardaxus | Nathan
---------------------------------
Tangle - Persistent World Toolkit
tangle.netlab.com.au

Here''s my comparison:

C++ w/ Win32 API: You''re either masochistic or stupid.

C++ w/ MFC: Not a lot of fun, but once you get used to it not terribly difficult.

Managed C++ w/ Winforms: Managed C++ looks weird but once you get used to that it''s really simple to do everything you do w/ Win32 API or MFC in about 5 lines of code.

quote:

Not true at all. I program nearly all of my windows applications without MFC. I''ve never liked MFC, and I never will. The better alternative (if getting the job done quickly is your main concern) would be either managed C++ or C#. But still, most of the time I simply code in C++ without either. Your comment couldn''t be further from the truth.