Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Game Developer Newb would like help

This topic is 4980 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

What''s up all? REALLY sorry if this has been posted a bunch of times...BUT, here goes. Would like to get into game development but not sure exactly where to start at, which books to buy...blah blah blah. I am a software developer right now(about 7 years job experience programming) and have CS degree, so I know many dev languages(C#, VB.NET, VB, little C++ and Java, others that aren''t worth mentioning), but I am not sure which would be the best for me to use to develope games in. I read the whole article "How do I make games? A Path to game development" on this site and it sounds like a reasonable way to get started...Start with a Tetris "like" game and work your way up. I saw that there was Tetris code on this site in C++. I would like to try it on my own with the help of that for a resource. I have worked with Warcraft to make levels for Counter Strike, but that is as far as I have gotten. I have a copy of 3D Game Studio, but I did wanna get to far into that if it is not the way to go. Could somebody point me in the right directions of, books, which dev language would be the best to use, tools...etc to get me started? Thanks VERY much in advance for your time!!! GO SOX!!!

There are many articles in Articles & Resources.

Sounds as if you can skip tetris and look at the enginuity series (about game engines).
Then it depends on what you want to do.
3d, free, Open Source and platform independent? Or commercial and WinXp with Visual C++ only?

You can and probably should look at source code of free engines and games.
I think you can't go wrong with C++.

---
Tolop

[edited by - Clueless on April 21, 2004 5:13:53 PM]