• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

J-Ral

Beginners Book Recommendation...

This topic is 5215 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi All, I am a graduate Computer Science student from the University of Adelaide, South Australia. Unlike most US colleges, my University neglected to teach us anything about Game development except one course on some of the basic AI theory e.g. MiniMax with Alpha-Beta and Evolutionary Programming. So, being a student, I''ve decided the only way for me to learn about game development is to buy some books and start programming at home. But, there are so many choices out there, some bad for beginners, some good, some just bad in genereal (according to reviews), that I just don''t know which ones will give me the best knowledge for my money - since I have bugger all expendable income, this is an important issue. I was wondering if some of the more experienced game programmers out there may be able to recommend a few choices of books for someone with intermediate programming skills (I only just graduated - little commercial experience) and no graphics programming experience. I would like to explore all aspects of game development in order to obtain an idea of what Id like to pursue further and what I might be best at. I would really appreciate any advice that the experienced game programmers can offer in respect to starting a career in this highly competitive game development industry. Thanks, J-Ral. Trace back the elements...

Advertisement
Since you''re a computer science student I''m gonna assume your programming isn''t an issue. (Ignoring that, the Deitel & Deitel C++ and Java books are very good)