• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Game Engine

This topic is 5034 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello all, this is my first post. I am currently a student, and just heard about this web site. Well here is my issue. I am currently working on making my first 3D Game Engine. I am getting very frustrated at the moment. I am trying to make a tree that controls many, children and is able to move, from child to child, and to the parent and so on. I am doing it in Direct X. How do you keep from getting frustrated. What books do you recomend. Currently I have the book Creating Role Playing games using Direct X 3D by Jim Adams.

Advertisement
quote:
Original post by BFett88 How do you keep from getting frustrated.

Programming is very frustrating. Here's some tips that have helped me and may help you:

* Move to a foreign location to program. For me, it was moving to the kitchen table away from the Internet, TV, and any other distractions.

* If you listen to music, keep it to relaxing + classical music or none at all. Also, voices in music can be very distracting.

* When you're stressed, get something to eat and walk away from you're computer. Design solutions to your problem on paper while you're away. Monitors can be stressful on the eye.

quote:
Original post by BFett88 What books do you recomend.

Code Complete - McConnell
Tricks of the Windows Game Pragramming Gurus - LaMothe

DirectX books tend to be specific to techniques and not to general gameplay - for obvious reasons. Jim Adam's Role Playing Book was decent, however, because there was a variety of information presented throughout the book.

[edited by - vnillabrent on May 7, 2004 11:19:48 PM]

Here''s a list of books that I''ve found really helpful in more then one way.