• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Optimization for a landscape engine

This topic is 5126 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Greetings all I''ve been playing around with my landscape engine and figured it may be time to stop adding features and start optimizing. First, a brief run-down of the situation. I have very little OpenGL experience. In fact, this is week #1 for me. I''ve read NeHe''s tutorials up to #10, so my understanding of OpenGL is still in infancy. It was enough for me to write a pretty cool landscape engine, complete with water and sand and stuff, as well as a heightmap generated on the fly with my own custom-made noise function, and keyboard-based movement. While it runs at a decent speed, the problem is this... I have 80,000 triangles. 240,000 vertices. That''s a lot. Why so many? My heightmap is 200x200. Each pixel consists of two triangles, as in...
|¯¯/|
| / |
|/__| 
This works fine and gives me a very pretty and smooth landscape. What I do is, well, just render every triangle one by one. Basically, there''s very little going on. Just... loop through my 80,000 triangles and render them one by one... So what could I do to make this better? I''ll gladly provide code if necessary. I''m still learning OpenGL, so I''m afraid some of the more advanced landscape-rendering methods are beyond me at the moment. But a few pointers on how to handle a high amount of polygons at once would be very welcomed.

Advertisement
Ok... I,ve just tried triangle strips and I''m getting pretty crazy speeds.

Well, kinda embarassing, but I think I''ve found the answer to my own problem, heh. Though if there,s anything better than triangle strips, I''m all ears.