Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

bkt

Platform-independant Render Help

So I've been working for a few months (on and off, more off) on my game engine. I have the core done (based it upon Richard Fine's tutorial in the articles) and I finished writing my simple "drivers" for opengl and direct3d9 initalizing. I've hit bit of a snag. I'm going to focus primarily on direct3d9 right now, but I still want to be able to include opengl support sometime down the road (when opengl2.0 becomes mainstream). I just need to figure out how I'm going to work out rendering everything over both platforms without it touching my core DLL. Right now my CoreEngine.dll uses the iVideoDevice interface and grabs either OGL or DX9 driver and loads it up. I was thinking of using a iRender interface, and then having seperate render classes for different things (rendering planes, projectiles, etc). But at this point, I'm lost. Looking at a DX9 tutorial it starts getting into using DX9 interfaces that I know that opengl doesn't have. Basically, I'm wondering what I should do :]! Here's some of my code for my iRender intterface, cRenderPlane class. I was going to throw all of the iRender objects into a linked list and then pass the linked list into the correct driver (basically calling each classes Render() method from inside the driver dll) but I have a real feeling that it won't work, mind you, I haven't tested it yet. It's just one of those feelings that you know will go wrong! So how would I go about making a platform-independant model for rendering the objects in the game, and then throwing them into the corresponding graphics driver and then having that render properly? Code snippets: iRender.cpp (CoreEngine.dll)
void iRender::Release(void) {
	for(std::list<iRender *>::iterator it=renderList.begin();it!=renderList.end();) {
		iRender *r=(*it);
		it++;

r->Shutdown( );
		renderList.remove(r);
		delete r;
		r=0;
	}
	renderList.clear();
}