Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Any Director MX developers here?

This topic is 4955 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

lol, im a kinda FlashMX game programmer. Me and my mates are working on a small tank game.
To check that out go to this site
I know that director can be use to make 3D stuff. To check out what it can do i suggest you go to Robot Duck

Kris

----------

"Here lies a toppled God,
His fall was not a small one,
We but built his pedastle,
A narrow, and a tall one"
Frank Herbert (Dune:Messiah)

[edited by - Kris2456 on May 20, 2004 5:13:39 PM]

[edited by - Kris2456 on May 20, 2004 5:14:40 PM]

Guest Anonymous Poster
I''m a professional Director and Flash developer, and I find Director a much more powerful tool than Flash. There''s a lot more scope for organising your code, i.e. grouping into seperate scripts, rather than leaving it all in one place, which I tend to do in Flash. Code in Director also runs a lot faster than Flash because it''s partially compiled, where as Flash is purely interpreted.

The 3D stuff is quite nice, and its reasonably easy to use, as long as your maths isn''t too bad, but the quality is nowhere near the standard of modern games.

You''ve also got the difference in graphics to bear in mind, Director is Buitmap based where as Flash is Vector based, it all depends on what you are looking to achieve.

You can also embed Flash Movies inside Director, allowing you to use flash graphics with Director Code, but the performance will suffer (quite a bit in some cases).

Hope this helps.

Ignore the AP. I am (amongst other things) a Flash developer, and have looked into the Director vs Flash debate.