Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

kulik

API or non-API independent

I want to write game engine. I am thinking if API independency is necessary. It could be very messy. And probably slower because of proc pointers. What would you suggest? I have a lot of experience with OpenGL, less with DirectX.

You have to ask yourself a few questions - who do you expect to be using this engine? Is it for you to learn things from or will it be a commerical product?

If the first is true, you don''t have to care about API independence. If it''s the latter, then you probably do.

My Manta-X engine is API independent, but at present there''s only a D3D renderer written - there may not ever be a OGL renderer completed. The reason for me doing this is simple, API independence forces you to boil down your public interface to the bare neccessity. This is good practice in OOP design, where the public interface is what is seen by the world - without it I probably would have gotten lazy and ill-defined the interface (much like a few of my internal classes...). It also gives me a well defined and self-contained object that I can use to plug Direct-X rendering into any application with a few (simpler) calls.

Putting it simply, it''s a good way to think, even if you don''t use write separate renderers.

do you want to develope for multiple platforms ?
if yes, then go api independant or only openGL
if you only are developing for windows then use either openGL or directX but doing both really isnt gonna do much for you.

so I would just stick to what you know (either openGL or DirectX). However, making API independant code is a good learning experience. I did it once, decided it really wasnt worth all the extra effort and dropped it.

"A soldier is a part of the 1% of the population that keeps the other 99% free" - Lt. Colonel Todd, 1/38th Infantry, Ft. Benning, GA

think you''ve answered your own question.