Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

DuckMaestro

C# worth it?

DuckMaestro    122
I''m experienced in java 1.1, 1.2 and c/c++, win32api. I''m wondering if C# is going to save me coding-time but without taking away much coding-power. I like to be able to access memory directly sometimes (files loaded into memory) and do pointer math... i remember in java that you can''t exactly do things that way..... what about C#? are there pointers/can u do pointer math? or i guess another question would be, if you''ve switched to C# from C, what common coding practices were not longer doable and what did u have to do to get around it. thanks - Duck

Zipster    2365
You can do pointer stuff in C#, however you have to explicitly declare the sections of code in which you''ll be doing "unsafe" operations (that''s literally what it''s known as) so the compiler knows.

I was an experienced C++ programmer, and while I didn''t necessarily switch to C# I wanted to give .NET and the managed language(s) a try. I found C# very addicting The fact that I didn''t have to worry about all tedious memory management anymore alone was worth it, plus all the cool language features (delegates, events, properties, etc.) make it a pleasure to work with. Don''t get me wrong, I now like both C++ and C#, but I''m starting to like Windows Forms for Windows applications! You can use C++ with Windows Forms, but you have to use managed extensions. Just some extra keywords to remember, but I''d say .NET integrates better with C#.

Zipster    2365
I haven't mixed C# with managed C++ yet, but that would work seamlessly due to the fact that they both would compile to assemblies, which can be referenced in other projects.