Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Stan100

Doom III: Appease the massses?

Stan100    100
With the release of Doom III comming soon, and its high end computer needs, it brings a new question: If this game is popular, do you think games will come out requiring new comps all the time? Doom III is basically saying, "Our game will be so good 90% will buy new hardware!" Maybe this post should be in Game Design, but as a game programmer, I would like to hear everyone''s response. Over time I have seen indie games with relatively high reauirements, and its form has been frowned on. Main Question: Do you think high end games are a good idea, and if so, is it because more is expected of them?

_the_phantom_    11250
There are very few companies in the world whos reputation would allow them to basicaly say ''hey, are game is gonna run poo unless you''ve got cutting edge stuff'' and then have people upgrade.
iD is one, Valve is another and off the top of my head i cant think of others.
Frankly, iD can do it because they already have crap loads of money and just like to push the boundies a bit.
Valve havent done it with HL2, although there will be alot of people who upgrade to get it looking great.

I think games which push people to ugrade are good, otherwise we''d just get stuck with teh majority running 5year old machines and things wouldnt push forward.
Some balances is needed, but things do need to be kept pushing forward or things will stagnate.

Ranger50000    100
I must disagree that forcing people to buy a new machine is good. I''ve still got an old AMD K62 500mhz with a 64mb Nvidia card and there isn''t a game I can''t run. Or if there is I haven''t found it.
Now of course I do run programs at onlt 800x600 because I''m still using the monitor that came with my 486 (O.K. maybe most people aren''t as much of a cheap bastard as me, but still no one wants to upgrade constantly.