Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

3D graphics engine

This topic is 4951 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, I plan to write a 3D graphics engine as a summer project and was wondering whether I should go with writing a software renderer from scratch, or whether I should use Direct3D or something. I know a bit of theory about 3D graphics from Foley but I have never written an engine before. My personal feeling is that writing a software renderer would be more impressive when it comes to looking for a job (and also would be more "fun") but one could obviously get more realistic graphics by using a Direct3D and an accelerator. Any advice on which route I should take ? -Rahul

If I were you, I wouldnt bother writing a software rasterizer. No normal game dev starts from scratch when making a game. Video cards are just too incompatable to make a rasterizer that works will all of them.

Learn DirectX or OpenGl and work on the important stuff...the stuff youll actually use in a normal game programming job.

Oh yea, and happy coding!

Guest Anonymous Poster
Writing a software 3D engine will teach you all the concepts that you will need when you move to Direct3D, and will also help on any consoles that don''t support Direct3D.

I started learning Direct3D but relised that I didn''t know what was going on behind the scenes enough and this hindered my understanding of the code. I have now been working on my software rasterizer and have a much better understanding of 3D graphics which will be a great help when I go back to a 3D API.

Thanks for the quick replies guys.