Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Need some help with a class based sprite engine

This topic is 4950 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Could a moderator close this thread please. I reposted with a more apt discription and a much shorter message. Thanks First off is this the right place to post for some C++ help? I am just learning c++. I am developing a sprite engine (learning as I go) and am stumped. I have been looking through these forums for some time (anon). This is the first time posting or getting help. So I don't know how to post the code except by massive cut and paste. I have a sprite class that creates an array of actions. The actions are a class as well. During my testing before i implemented the sprite class the action class worked fine. now that it is being called by the sprite class it no longer functions properly. The line "frames = new RECT[total_frames];" isn't creating an array of frames anymore it used to. frames is of type RECT. In debug mode total_frames is equal to 6. the rest of the code is as follows: if (frames == NULL){ //Place error handleing here } else { //build the Rect Array for texture positions SetupRects(top,left,height,width,texture_Height,texture_Width); } frames are equal to null now. so my SetupRects call is never made. This is happening in the CActions class in the initActions method. *note this is using the wonderful texture_quad batching example posted by Eamonn Doherty Code (not complete files): /************************************************************************************************* * MAIN.CPP *************************************************************************************************/ #include "main.h" //Entry point int WINAPI WinMain (HINSTANCE hInstance, HINSTANCE hPrevInstance, LPSTR lpCmdLine, int nCmdShow) { MSG msg; IDirect3D