Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

i heed help programming!!!!!!! badly!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This topic is 4943 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

ok hey im totally new to game developement ive wanted to do it for soo long.. but i dont know where to start im guessing programming but i dont know.. please tell me where to start and give me some resources i can use to gain some knowledge of it like compilers modelers and stuff if u ahve aim zero or die2999

If you want to start learning programming I''d recomend learning Python. It''s a powerful language that you can do a lot in. The code written in isn''t going to be as fast as code written in say C++ (which I would recomend staying away from until you actually know how to program in an easier language such as Python), however maximum speed is not what you need when learning to program. You need a language which takes care of the low level details and allows you to focus on the principles of programming.

How to think like a computer scientist may be a good book to read (it''s free to download online) to learn Python.

I don't know why people even bother to use "Python".
I don't know how can you people ewen begin writeing somthing in phyton when you know that in c/c++ you can write it about 12 times more efficiently!
And not only do you write code that is slow, you are adviceing other people to do it ???
My opinion is C++ & Assembler - once you got these two under your belt nothing in game dedvelopment will be more than an add on to your kwnolidge!
If you learn somthing like Python you will get the principals of the lanuge (Syntax) and then wen switching to C/C++ you will hawe a hard time adapting to changes!
Well I am not saying Python is usles - yust it has no use in game deevelopment where every frame counts (evry wasted procesor cycle )