Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Win32 API Help!!!

This topic is 4948 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I can't get this working... idea is when you execute the program, a message box asks if you want to load or cancel the loading. So I'm new to the IDOK / IDCANCEL stuff. Here's part of the code:
	switch(Msg)
	{
		case WM_CREATE:  MessageBox(NULL, "Do you want to load the window?", "Message", MB_YESNO);

switch( LOWORD( wParam ) )		
						 {    
							case IDOK: MessageBox(NULL, "Yes.", "Yes", MB_OK);
									   break;
						    case IDCANCEL: MessageBox(NULL, "No", "No", MB_OK);
										   PostQuitMessage(WM_QUIT);
										   break;
							default: MessageBox(NULL, "Didn't work", "Didn't work", MB_OK);
						 }
						 break;   
[edited by - philvaira on May 31, 2004 5:42:58 PM]

What the heck is that code doing?

Ignoring the code for the moment, if you want to process the result of the MessageBox(), check it''s return value. If the user presses the OK button, MessageBox() returns IDOK. If the user presses yes, MessageBox() returns IDYES, etc. Look up the MessageBox() documentation for more details.

SiCrane, please don't reply if you can't help with the code. You've never been any help to me in your previous posts.

Thank you.

Now the problem is no matter what I click, the default comes on. Why is this, and how can it be solved?

[edited by - philvaira on May 31, 2004 5:49:53 PM]

I didn't actually try your code, but I'm assuming the problem you have is that the window isn't created in either case.