• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

ri3eboi

Newbie needs Networking Help, Please read.

This topic is 5281 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey guys: I am a networking newbie who is trying to implement the multiplayer version of a already made single player air hockey game. After reading Beej''s Guide and SDL_Net documentation, I learnt how to implement a simple message server that listens for connection, receives message, and a client that sends messages. But this is far less than the knowledge I need to implement the game. So I am writing to ask for some help from you guys on the overal network architecture of the game (by architecture I mean how to implment the server and client version of the game, because I am having so much problems trying to come up with a synchronization scheme). The game server and client both needs to send and receive data, but how do I sort through the data received, and how to put the data received into the correct places? Please let me know if there are any guides/tutorials on how to implement the multiplayer version of a game similar to mine (air hockey game). This is what I need to implement: a 2 player game that uses Client/Server architecture. One player acts as the server who hosts the game, another acts as the client who joins the game using IP address of the server. I am planning on using UDP protocol. The single player game is already implemented, it is time based, implemented in C++ using SDL and GLUT. Thanks a lot in advance.

Advertisement