• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Mr_Ridd

Genesis 3D

This topic is 5272 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Howzit Has anyone used Genesis3D? If so, what is your critic of it? Did you find it powerful? Can you use it to make a full blown game like Unreal Tournament 2004? Shot The ability to succeed is the ability to adapt

Advertisement
I started programming using the "Game Programmers Starter Kit" when I was 12 (a LONG while ago...) and the engine was included in that kit. Thats a hint as to how out-of-date it is, though I''m sure its been updated since then.

Chris Pergrossi
My Realm | "Good Morning, Dave"

1997 called. They want their game engine back.

Seriously though- the original Genesis3D's graphical capabilities lie somewhere in between the original Unreal engine and Quake2. Network connectivity was based off of Directplay, which of course made gameplay unworkable over the internet- actually, everything in the engine (with the exception of the Glide renderer) was based off of DirectX. Some of the later rewrites such as Jet3D remidied many of these problems. If you are looking for an open source engine, ready to go, with a very Quake-like toolchain, then it is probably worth a shot. If you are looking to toy with the latest graphics tech or plan on doing anything but the most basic 3D games/generic indoor level-based FPSes, the engine's reliance on BSP tech (and some other problems that may have been fixed in Jet3D) will bite you in the ass. Hard. Take it from someone that tried to push it beyond it's limits.