• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

AlbertoT

a raeson for .x?

This topic is 5224 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

hello I am studying in these days the .x file architecture and I find ii rather complicated in comparison with Milkshape and m2d file format. I wonder what advantage can I expect with .x...no flame war..just a curiosity thanks in advance

Advertisement
D3DXMesh loads and manipulates .x files without issue.

It''s *NOT* designed to be a file format for general purpose use. It''s designed to work with D3DX, which is just a utility library that works with D3D. It''s mostly a learning tool, but it could be used on a professional level if you really wanted.

Thanks for your reply, but probably I did not make myself understood.
I mean what additional features (benefits) can I expect using .x file format ( if any ) rather then Milkshape \ m2d?
The fact that .x file is directly supported by direct x and by d3dx is not an argument in my opinion.
if a big car factory use custom and expensive components instead of standard and economic ones,you may have no other choice but purchasing from the big factory, but it is hard to say it is an advantage.
(That''s why I pointed out it was not my slightest intention to start a flame war, just to know)