• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

bobber

3Ds Max v6 (getting started)

This topic is 5250 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Yo, i am new to 3Ds Max, does anyone know were i can start off and learn the basics? ie tutorials, stuff like that to help me get started.. thx [edited by - Bobber on June 1, 2004 9:52:18 PM]

Advertisement
quote:
its going to be hard to find beginner tutorials

so, say, what tools used experienced max users when they began?

i think they probably used max. anyways, he is right, it's a hard program to master (3d in general is hard), but you can master it, probably, if you go step by step (well, i think someday i'll do ), and yes, google is your friend. i suggest you to think about something you want to start (ie: subdivision surfaces modeling, nurbs, texturing, lighting) and search something like: modeling + car + tutorial and... look!! there's plenty of tutorials!!. try to use one feature at a time (i mean, first try to be good with modeling, then with texturing, then with animation, etc) or you'll be lost quickly... well, i did.
just go step by step

-----------------------------------------------------------
http://www.exepotes.com.ar

[edited by - exepotes on June 1, 2004 12:48:56 AM]

Max comes with extensive tutorials on the CD. Make sure you select the tutorials in the installers (it''s the default). Then jump into them; there really is no better way. You have to understand the basics of objects, modifier stacks, and materials, and you have to understand object transform, pivot transform, and linking -- then it should be all cake. The included manuals also do a decent job of explaining this. It''s really worth it reading through them!