• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Brahose

Making Money From your game. Royalty style!

This topic is 5214 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Me and my friend are working out a deal with a company in canada to design a game for them. They have never published an electronic game before, so it will be a high risk investment. Because of the high risk, they are offering royalties instead of a fixed price. I have never worked with royalties before, and need to know what a decent percentage would be. If anybody has any ideas or past experiences, please help! Keep in mind that we are doing all of the design, building, graphics, and packaging ourselves. They are simply publishing it. thanks! Brian Reinhart Brian[@]Pointblanc.net www1.pointblanc.net

Advertisement
I heard that ~30% was a good deal to start with. However, like the risk is very high since both parties are new in the business, maybe 10% is more appropriate.

Sébastien Nadon
http://www.foredoomed-mansion.com

You haven''t offered a single piece of relevant information. Are you just designing a game, or are you also developing the game? Are they funding the development or are you funding the development? Will the publisher be publishing the game in a physical format and putting it on store shelves or will it be by order/download only? Will the publisher engage in any relevant marketing/advertising to push your project? To what extent if so? Is the publisher providing a QA team to work with your project?

If most of those questions show you doing most the work and the game not being on store shelves, I''d expect a minimum of 50% and aim more around 80%. If all of those are geared towards the publisher and you''re only designing the game, you''d be lucky to score a fraction of a 1% royalty.