• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

captivated

Game Engine design

This topic is 5279 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Just a quick question, for those of you who have designed your own game engine... Did you make it web capable? Also, what programming language did you use? We are looking around but have come up empty handed with the game engine side. The main developer is planning to use blender but blender doesn''t have the web plugin now so he is having to code it himself. Also, have any of you guys put your own engine on the market? Thanks for answering even though I am a newbie to the forums.... Crystal

Advertisement
When making my own engines, I basically use C or C++, and with a dash of Assembly language for stuff not already supported by some API.

As far as web pluggins, it is a good idea to build your engine to run off the grid, then make a plugin that will allow it to be web capable and compile that in if you need / want it for that game.

Hope this helps you out.

Sincerely,
Randy Trulson
www.GamePotato.com
www.NeuronGames.com

quote:
Just a quick question, for those of you who have designed your own game engine... Did you make it web capable?

Wtf do you mean by web cabable? I can think of at least 3 interpretations:

1. multiplayer/mmo game
2. highscores maintained by a highscore server over the internet
3. play the game on a web browser.

Plus, iirc the blender game engine was removed from the current distribution and is being reworked?

Please clarify, I''m losing brain cells here....