• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

RyanV

What are my chances?

This topic is 5273 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I have all the ideas and algorythims for a Sci-Fi MMORPG out on paper, I have no experience on anything real(like C++ or VB) So I would need good programmers and artists, what are my chances of someone looking at it and seriously concidering publishing it? do people look well at theroy paper? I may be young but I am perfectly capible of managing stuff..so what are my chances?

Advertisement
Without enough expierence to actually start development now by yourself it could be hard to convince people on these boards to do it for you.

An MMORPG is a massive task and if you intend on managing the project without understanding even a little of what your programmers must do, you''ll find it really hard.

The main problem with MMOG projects is that you''ll either have to find some really generous person to let you use some dedicated servers for free, or you''ll be waisting a lot of money just developing the thing.

Advice: start small, maybe learn a little about networking and develop a simple Text-Based MUD using your design.

Good Luck

Im a C++ programmer of around 4 years, with about 2 years experience with DirectX. I am only just starting to understand the logic behind huge games such as MMORPG''s and yet I would still struggle to develop one.

Somone with little experience...well..

well i have some real high power servers collecting dust in the attic..so servers are no problem..i am seriously concidering chaceing a sponsor..but where? it is, like you said hard to get an mmorpg programmer..but i mean..how many people would even be willing, on the forum or otherwise to lay down the first line of code?