• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Jiia

Transforming vertices

This topic is 5275 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

This is a total newbie question, so be easy. I have my skin mesh totally animated now, using shaders, and I needed a fast method to perform collisions and line intersects on individual body parts. With vertex shaders, it''s impossible (right??) to know where a vertex is in 3D space except when it''s being rendered. If I were to transform them to check collision, I might as well do software skinning. So I constructed a very simple mesh which serves as a bounding area around each bone. Most only have 8 vertices, some 16, etc. I transform these in software when collision needs checked, rather than every frame. This is how I''m currently transforming them:
D3DXVECTOR4 FVec;
D3DXMATRIX *MTrans = &CurrentBoneMatrix;
Vert = OriginalVertexArrayPtr;
verts = LockVertexBufferOnCollisionDummy();
for(INT v=0; v<NumVerts; v++)
{
	D3DXVec3Transform(&FVec, Vert, MTrans);
	verts->x = FVec.x;
	verts->y = FVec.y;
	verts->z = FVec.z;

Vert++;
	verts++;
}
FVF for vertices is only x,y,z. One thing I could do is add another veriable (w) to use a straight up D3DXVECTOR4. That would remove the extra copy per vertex. Sure, my dummy mesh is probably only around 100+ vertices, but that doesn''t mean I won''t need to do this with hundreds of them. I just want to make sure this routine is reasonably fast as I keep building. My question is: is this a stupid way to do this? D3DXVec3Transform? Should I transform the vertices myself instead? Is there a D3DX method to transform a mesh'' vertices for me? My current project requires lots of mouse pointing at objects, so some bounding objects may be pretty complex. Thanks for any suggestions.

Advertisement