• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

ikantor89

Legality of game design

This topic is 5211 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello all! This forum seemed like the best place to ask, however if it would belong in a different location please move it. I am a hobbyist game developer and am staring my first serious project. Without going into great detail, it’s going to be a 2D scrolling shooter. What makes it unique is that it is based on a Hollywood motion picture. The question of copyright and legality arises. If I want to use some of the names and or pictures and or music from the original movie, how do I avoid getting sued by a major Hollywood movie company? I am not intending to use this comercialy (Ill presumes that putting it on my web page does not count as commercial use). Can anyone help? Where can I research the issue? Regards, Igor

Advertisement
Well If you want to know a better place to post this maybe in the Game Business forum you could have asked.

And regarding your problem, I have seen TONS of non-comercial games using copyrighted names tought you have to say who owns the copyright, and as far as I know no one has gotten hurt. About pictures and music I know that you have to ask for permision first. Even if it''s for free stuff.

Honestly speaking, I don''t know if the company with the copyright would ''waste'' their time in replying an email from a hobbist freeware developer (from experience, the guys at the company that I emailed prolly found my email so funny that it made their day, tought I must confess that I was too dumb at that time and the email reflected that ), but maybe contacting the company and asking for permision on 1 freeware game is your best bet.

That is as far as I know, I''m not a guru at the subject :\