• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

UncleDarryl

D3D9 Single-pass multitexturing

This topic is 5274 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm new to D3D and I'm having trouble getting a couple of textures blended properly and applied to a mesh in a single pass. My mesh has a 32-bit texture, and I'd like to use its alpha channel to control how "strongly" the reflection map is applied in places. The reflection map is just a straightforward 24-bit texture. My approach has been to set up texture stage 0 with the mesh's texture and normal UV coords, and then stage 1 with the reflection map and spherical coordinate generation. However I can't seem to get them to blend properly. I've tried to switch the stages and blend modes around as far as my understanding of SetTextureStageState will go, but still haven't been able to come up with the desired effect. Can anyone help me out with how the texture stages/blending operations should be set up, or point me to a resource? Thank you [edited by - UncleDarryl on June 5, 2004 2:43:56 AM]

Advertisement
Shader? We don''t need no stinkin shaders.

// Base texture

SetTSS(0, D3DTSS_COLOROP, D3DTOP_SELECTARG1);
SetTSS(0, D3DTSS_COLORARG1, D3DTA_TEXTURE);
SetTSS(0, D3DTSS_ALPHAOP, D3DTOP_SELECTARG1);
SetTSS(0, D3DTSS_ALPHAARG1, D3DTA_TEXTURE);
SetTSS(0, D3DTSS_TEXCOORDINDEX, 0);

// Sphere map mixed by previous alpha

SetTSS(1, D3DTSS_COLOROP, D3DTOP_BLENDCURRENTALPHA);
SetTSS(1, D3DTSS_COLORARG1, D3DTA_TEXTURE);
SetTSS(1, D3DTSS_COLORARG2, D3DTA_CURRENT);
SetTSS(1, D3DTSS_ALPHAOP, D3DTOP_SELECTARG1);
SetTSS(1, D3DTSS_ALPHAARG1, D3DTA_CURRENT);
// Note we use CSN rather than spheremap since spheremap is

// new to DX9 an the docs never mention how it''s implemented.

// Does the driver translate this, or do you need a new card?