• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Telastyn

Newbie problems; rendering simple triangle [answered!]

This topic is 5222 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I have finally gotten the motivation to work on [and continue working on] a nice simple game. 2d, turn based, nothing fancy. I have written up the server side [network setup, class infrastructure, map generation]. Now though I kind of need some sort of GUI [beyond little ASCII maps] to help manage actually visualizing the maps and unit locations the server spits out. Unfortunately windows programming, and directx in particular is a spot where I've little experience. I've done a little in DX7; a little in GDI. I know enough to setup a window and enough to know the cenceptual design of WndProc and the such. I know "book" 3d concepts. So I hit msdn, and started working on walking through the DX9 c++ tutorials [since that's what documentation is available]. Reading through and slowly adapting the tutorial details to my own game to make sure I understand the concepts. I've run across a problem though... [as you could've guessed]. I am working through Tutorial #2 [rendering vertices] and when I move the code into my own app it doesn't display the triangle. Or at least it doesn't display the triangle in an area where I can see it. I have gone through the program in vc++'s debugger and all of the DX calls return success. The created vertex buffer contains the 3 vertices. ->Clear() the screen sets the color properly. DrawPrimitive just doesn't seem to actually render the triangle anywhere I can see, despite it doing the same thing in the boxed tutorial with the same coordinates... On to code. from WinMain:
//snip...
ShowWindow(winobj,cmdshow);
UpdateWindow(winobj);

guiroot=new ro_root;
guiroot->init(winobj);