• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

desamaru

speed speed speed

This topic is 5277 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

First things first: if I screw up some terminology, correct me. I am very new to this 3D graphics bit. I''m also new to the forum. I am trying to program my own software 3D engine. I am doing well so far, but have come to a point where speed is becoming an issue. I have two methods of drawing polygons, the slow one and the fast one. The slow one is implemented by manually rasterizing (terminology?) the polygon to the screen using some math I came up with. The polygon is then filled in by horizontal lines, starting from top to bottom, filling in pixel by pixel horizontally across. I forget the name; something like scanlines comes to mind. In the process, I am using a z buffer to decide whether or not to actually put each pixel. The z buffer doesn''t store the color information, by the way, just depth, so I can test whether to draw or not later. The fast polygon drawing method uses backface culling, and a triangle filling routine provided by the graphics API I''m using (windows GDI, if it''s important). Windows'' triangle filling routine puts my filling method to shame. Using it, I get around 140 FPS when rendering 16 rotating cubes. The slow method however is only 10-16 FPS. My question is then, how can I speed things up? I know absolutely no assembly, so that''s not possible with my current knowledge. I''m trying to find where the bottleneck is, but that is not going well, since I can''t seem to optimize my code anything further. I wish I could post the entire code, so others may provide advice or criticism... A few other pieces of information that may make answering easier... I use the "float" data type everywhere. I realize that floating point arithmetic is