• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

greggtwep

good old exporting problem

This topic is 5243 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I have a .max file that I purchased off of turbosquid.com and I am trying to export it to .3ds. Its a nice file and looks very nice. It is a very large file (23mb) and has a lot of polygons (>500,000). Obviously, when I go to export it in 3ds max 6 I get the usual >64k faces error. Now I did a search on google on how to fix this problem and the only thing I found was to fool with the file itself and make sure any mesh in the scene is <64k. Doing so would require me to split up what is right now a collection of 8 meshes. Now, I am a programmer and not an artist. First off, it would take me awhile to learn how to do this. Secondly it is WAY over 64k so doing this wouldn''t be just splitting up a few meshes. I was wondering if there is another way to do this. Any plugins that allows you to export larger files? Any way other way of doing this? Help would be appreciated.
"understanding is a three-edged sword: your side, their side.. and the truth "

"If builders built buildings the way programmers wrote programs, then the first woodpecker that came along would destroy civilization. "

"The degree of technical competence is inversely proportional to the level of management. "

"Any given program, when running, is obsolete. "

Advertisement
anyone know of any other way?

"If builders built buildings the way programmers wrote programs, then the first woodpecker that came along would destroy civilization. "

"The degree of technical competence is inversely proportional to the level of management. "

check : http://www.maxplugins.de/

Or check http://www.righthemisphere.com/products/dexp/index.htm