• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Gravity

This topic is 5069 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Advertisement
Hey Mr_Ridd,

I dunno where you can find any tutorials, but these might be somehow useful (if you can figure out your own implementation)... I decided to write my own brief tut. Everyone be clear that I'm not an expert physicist or programmer, so pointing out my errors is probably a good thing... onwards!

Another note:
This is nowhere near optimised, there are bugs that I can pick out and other such things. The reason that it is not optimised is so that it is easier to see what's going on. And hey, this all deals with a point as opposed to a player capsule.

First off, horizontal movement has no effect on gravity (assuming that it is downward - like on earth), so you just need to worry about your y values. Then you can use the following:

v=u+at
v^2=u^2+2as //this one's pretty irrelevent for games methinks
s=ut+1/2 * a t^2
or more simply:
s=vt

Where,
v = final velocity
u = initial velocity
a = acceleration (due to gravity, put in -9.8m/s/s for earth)
t = time (in seconds - this'll probably be your frametime or whatnot)
s = displacement (from a relative point 0 at the start of each physics step)

This is what I'd use to deal with the falling of the characters / objects etc. once the player has jumped or whatnot. In a game implementation, these would look like [to me at least]

(called once every frame, probably in with all of your other physics routines)

void CPawn::HandlePhysics()
{
this->velocity[Y_AXIS]=this->velocity[Y_AXIS]-system->gravity*system->frametime;
this->location[Y_AXIS]+=this->velocity[Y_AXIS]*system->frametime;
return;
}

I think that the objects are pretty obvious what they are (the wrapper is an actor class).