Playing with vectors

Started by
11 comments, last by BSMonkey 19 years, 10 months ago
Ok Im working on an eneity manager and I have a lil but of lossing track of entities. I think its with how Im holding them in the vector. So I started playing around with vectors to see if they acted the way I expected. This is my lil test code. Sorry its so long I dont know how you people make nice lil scroll windows. #include <iostream> using std::cout; #include <math.h> #include <vector> using std::vector; //#include "Console.h" //#pragma comment(lib, "ConsoleD") /***********/ /* Globals */ /***********/ int count = 0; //Console con(80, 25, false, false); /**************/ /* Prototypes */ /**************/ class dog { public: const int val; dog( ) : val(++count) { } }; /************/ /* Internal */ /************/ int main(void) { vector < dog * > test; test.reserve( 5 ); for ( int i = 0; i < 10; ++i ) { test.push_back( &( dog( ) ) ); cout << test->val << "\n"; if( i ) cout << test->val << "\n"; } test[4] = 0; test[7] = 0; cout << "\n\n" << test.size( ) << "\n\n"; for ( int i = 0; i < 10; ++i ) { dog * temp = test; if ( temp ) cout << temp->val << ''\n''; } //con << Def; //con.Goto(con.Rows() - 1, (con.Cols() - 25) / 2); return 0; } this is the output it gives me but in a nice line 1 2 2 3 3 4 4 5 5 6 6 7 7 8 8 9 9 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 the end part of all tens is not what I expected at all. I thought it would count up from 1 to 10 skipping 5 and 8 but I get all tens. Can any &#111;ne tell me why please. </i>
Advertisement
quote:Original post by BSMonkey
test.push_back( &( dog( ) ) );

That line. You are passing the same object over and over again. Use test.push_back( new dog() );
I think you are filling the vector with pointers to the same address for which the last value it is changed to is 10. Try printing the addresses of the contents of the vector to check this.
-------------------------0 A.D.
ugg

thanks alnite I shoulda noticed that my self