• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

This topic is 5004 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Ok you may have heard this many times before. I am a major noob with C++ and computer programming but i want to learn. What would i start with ?

Advertisement
quote:
Original post by KazukiKazama
Ok you may have heard this many times before. I am a major noob with C++ and computer programming but i want to learn. What would i start with ?

Go to your a bookstore and find a book you like on the subject. If you don't already have one, get a compiler. You can use Dev-C++. It's a fairly nice IDE and it comes with MinGW (Windows port of gcc). You can also use it with Cygwin (Another Windows port of gcc) if you want. Borland has a commandline version of their compiler avaliable for free. If all else fails you pay for Microsoft's compiler.

You might also consider taking a class.

Other my disagree with me, but I don't see any reason why you can't learn C or C++ as your first programming language.

[edited by - prh99 on June 9, 2004 5:49:52 PM]

Microsoft also has a free version of their VC++ compiler and more: click

quote:
Other my disagree with me, but I don't see any reason why you can't learn C or C++ as your first programming language.