• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Questioner

concerning classes and objects in C++

This topic is 6599 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

This is a newbie question because I am a newbie. Now I am currently ready a beginner''s C++ Book called C++ for Dummies, not a very good book by the way. I am now onto classes and understand how to set one up and how to create objects and such. But one thing the book fails to explain is what I use classes for and how do I use them. If anyone could answer my question it would be apprecieated.

Advertisement
Well,
Classes are very very useful and is practically what C++ is all about. I can''t really tell you everything that they are for and how they are used because there is just so much really. But classes bascially ecapsulate your data and functions together. You probably read about public, private and protected variables. Those help encapsulate your data and private/protected hide stuff from a client app that you don''t want them messing with. Another big thing about C++ is inheritance. That is when you inherit one class into another class.

class FooOne
{
int Foo1;

int FooIt();
};

class FooTwo: public FooOne
{
float Foo2;

void FooIt( float X );
};

now the class FooTwo inherits the data and member functions from FooOne. There''s different ways of inheriting one class into another, you should find that in your book. Then when inheriting you can use virtual functions which is another big thing about classes. Cool stuff. But, that''s just a little blurb on what classes are used for, I''m sure you''re book mentions those things so keep reading and good luck!

I suggest "Teach Yourself C++ in 21 Days 3rd Edition" by Jesse Liberty. He explains everything.

//and int is a interger

int myInt;

//now if

class Ball
{
private:
int X;
int Y;