Sign in to follow this  
cocopets

I am new at gamemaking can someone explain it

Game making is a pretty big field, with a lot of different ways of doing it...could you say a bit more about the kinds of things you want to do? The process you would use to create your game depends heavily on what you want to make.

As unreason said, creating a game is no small task, you'll need to start out by learning *how* to make games which can take time and sometimes be rather complicated.

Listed below are a couple of good places to help point you in the right direction:

http://www.gamedev.net/reference/start_here/
http://www.gamedev.net/community/forums/showfaq.asp?forum_id=31

From the sounds of it you want to have several games on the site ... I'd suggest if you are doing it alone you start making one game at a time really.

First step I'd tell you to undergo it to write up in detail what the game is, it's rules, it's points, how it's played etc.
Documentation is very important and I'm sure we should be able to guide you from there on how to make it.

sounds to me like the OP wants to make one of those neopet sites, but I don't know

Tiffany_Smith posted very good links and here are some of mine (posted in other threads)

Pygame, very neat, lets you use python for game development

Pyopengl, for 3d with you guessed it OpenGL

Game Tutorials(Tons of reletive stuff)

Cpp-Home (lots of example code)

Googled them

Great 2D tutorials

Flip-Code

MSDN

NEHE 3d opengl tutorials

gamedev.net articles

while Toadhead is right, it varies greatly from person to person. for example, i dont know if this guy was lieing, but i remember someone posting that theyve only been programming for 7 months and are already working on 3d games (and he posted a link to his website, which had screen shots of all the stuff he had done.. it all looked very nice... kinda made me depressed =))