Sign in to follow this  
dave

What could my next step be?

dave    2187
Hi, ace here Ive been working with DirectX for say a year now and C++ a while longer. I have plenty of knowledge behind me for programming in general now. I have also made a fully playable game of 3D Minesweeper and im keen to start engine design and make some more games. The query that lies with me is that, for a long while ive been trying to write a logically layed out engine, but the general class interaction bemuses me. Im not entirely sure, what should be C++ or C, the directX aint a problem. I was given the opinion that the way that teh framework that microsoft wrote for their DX samples wasn't very good, but im yet to create another better alternative. Are there any good engine or advanced C++ books anyone can recommend? Or any advice on how to progress to a higher standard of programming. regards ace

ApochPiQ    23061
Well first of all I may be misinterpreting your comment, but you don't really want to mix C++ and C in the same project. Either style is fine, but pick one and stick with it. Trying to blend OOP and procedural programming can get very ugly very fast.

Designing good software is an acquired skill I think. It can help immensely to pick up a book like Design Patterns and get yourself familiar with common, powerful solutions to different design problems. The best way, though, is to learn by experience. Pick a few different projects and just design the solution, but don't actually write any code. For example, come up with a simple set of features for a basic multi-document text editor, and design a set of classes (or functions and modules if you choose to go with a procedural, C-style approach) that will get the job done. Experiment with different designs, and try to foresee what the potential problems and powers of each design will be.