Sign in to follow this  
Stru

Sprite Engine in 3D

I made a 2D sprite engine in Managed DirectX 9 and .NET with textured quads. And It does eveything I want rotation, alpha-blending, texture blending, scaling, multiple quads for each object, etc. However, I am unhappy with the performance of the engine. And, I am pretty sure I know the cause of the poor performance. Every frame I regenerate all the vertices based on object data then render them all and I have to do it all over again next time. I know there is a better way (i.e. generate all the geometry and move around a camera and only update the geometry that is changing) I am kinda new to Direct3D and I dont really know the best way to set this up. I looked at the 2D in DX9 tutorial but it didnt really make sense to me. Also, some of my objects will be made up of multiple textured quads which I didn't think the method in the tutorial can handle. I know i have to do some matrix stuff that I am kinda dreading. I am also kinda lost as to how the vertex buffer locking would work with this method. My question is... Could someone please give me some simple pseudocode for this kind of engine? I would really really appreciate any help/explanation you could give me. Particularly code dealing with all the vertices and locking them.

If you are worried about performance using your own textured quads, try using ID3DXSprite. It batches everything, so it actually only makes one DrawPrimitive call per frame, which can really improve performance (espeicially if you are rendering a lot of quads). Also, it's really easy to use. Here is all you have to do:

// Load-time
(1) Create the ID3DXSprite object, using the D3DXCreateSprite factory function.

(2) Load your textures

// Run-time
(1) Call ID3DXSprite::Begin()

(2) For each texture you want to render
   (a) Build the translation matrix
   (b) Call ID3DXSprite::Draw()

(3) Call ID3DXSprite::End()