What to do.

Started by
21 comments, last by Trebor 19 years, 9 months ago
Ok, I have ran out of ideas on what to program, so I can get experience in C++, I have no knowledge of graphics, and basic C++ programming skills, any suggestions on what I should program?
I wanna make a game.
Advertisement
Well, that depends; what kind of projects have you done before? What sort of things are you trying to learn? If you want to get into AI, for example, then writing a 3D graphics demo would probably not be the best place to start, but a text-mode simulation of ants finding their way through a maze would be great. It depends a bit on what you're interested in doing in the long run.

Wielder of the Sacred Wands
[Work - ArenaNet] [Epoch Language] [Scribblings]

You could always go for a text based RPG, or if you're feeling a bit daring you could learn SDL and code a 2D game. SDL is pretty easy to understand and I find that creating something graphical is better because people who don't know how to code will appreciate it more and will give you more encouragement.
Well, in the future I would like to write 3D games, and as I said, I have no knowledge of graphics in C++ yet... So learn SDL?
I wanna make a game.
Also, I have written a monster simulation (best program ever for me) and guessing games, stuff like that.
I wanna make a game.
SDL would be a good place to start, as would the Windows GDI. Both are fairly easy to get going with and have plenty of examples to look at. I'd suggest something like this:

• Do a simple point-and-click graphical TicTacToe game (2 player or with AI if you like)
  • Make a simple 2-player checkers game, and again if you like you can add a basic AI
  • Try something with animation (a simple arcade-style scroller, a side-shot fighting game, etc.)
  • When you are comfortable with 2D, start learning a graphics API (OpenGL or DirectX). Begin by doing "2D in 3D" to get a feel for working with textures, polygons, and so forth.
  • Move into 3D