Im new and iv got some questions...

Started by
7 comments, last by Kais0n 19 years, 9 months ago
Hello ppl, im 23, im from Germany i study Molecular Life Sicencies and iv got a problem... Im really new to programming, well actually i dont know much right now. After 2 Weeks of experimentig and reading these boards and some tutorials im quite fammilliar wit DEV C++. And here iv got some Questions... 1. What is the difference between iostream and stdlib.h ? Why are ppl using printf instead of cout? 2.What are all these libs? Are they good what are they for... (I know this might be a real DUMB Question but i cant figure it out) 3.Is it possible to write a GUI without Win32.API? What do i need to write a GUI. 4.Is it just me or is there actually a BIG gap betwwen beginner Tutorials and anything else? I understand all these Tutorials but as soon it is about something else if feel REALLY stupid... Please Help! I want to get all these Boardgames me and my freinds made troughout the last years get running on PC. Greetz Kais0n ;)
Advertisement
Quote:Original post by Kais0n
1. What is the difference between iostream and stdlib.h ?
Why are ppl using printf instead of cout?

stdlib.h is a C library, while iosteam is a C++ library. printf is obsolete and shouldn't be used unless you're maintaining an old project. They didn't take it out of the library because they can't afford to break millions of lines of code that already use it. As to people using printf in new projects, well, it's just an old habbit. You can use whichever you like the most but the C++ standards committee recommends using iostream.
2.What are all these libs? Are they good what are they for...
(I know this might be a real DUMB Question but i cant figure it out)