Sign in to follow this  
Toonkides

Any seriously Employed Programmers out there?

I am close to graduation and I am highly considering programming as a job. I have heard the many praises of the field and some of the negative things of it as well. My question is this: what are you faced with? If it's not confidential would you mind sharing problems or situations you were given or came to throughout your career? What are the easy situations like? What are the hard ones? Is programming really problem solving or writing code for something that is seemingly easy or both? Thanks in advance

I am an employed programmer. I only graduated college last year. While in college, I worked at Halliburton, and now that I'm a graduate I work for the U.S. Army. I hear people talking about how there is no money in this field and no jobs. That's a lie. Most of the people I went to school with are now employed and make a salary far above the average man. Where I live, the cost of living is next to nothing. You live in an upper-middle class suburb if you can afford $700 a month for rent. It's just cheap here. The average CS graduate here makes about 30,000 a year. I make closer to 60,000, though I'm only one of three people I knew in college that makes that much so soon after graduation. The average salary here for average people is about 13,000 a year, so with a CS degree you make over twice as much on average.