[java] online java editor ?

Started by
11 comments, last by GameDev.net 19 years, 8 months ago
I have been searching the net but come up short... Does anyone know of a online java editor that need no installation ? It's like this. I work as a security guard right now, (sucks), and have a lot of time on my hands since at nighttime, nothing much happens. I could actually spend some time coding every night at work since I have acess to the internet and a fairly good computer. The thing is, I am not allowed to install any programs on this computer but I am allowed to surf the net and use any installed program I wish, my employer is quite generous with those sort of things. What I am looking for is something like a texteditor applet with syntax highlighting that I can run on this computer, connected to a server on my home computer where the actual code will be stored and compiled. soo, Does anyone know of a thing like this, or something similar ?
//~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~I'm looking for work
Advertisement
install linux, setup a secure shell server, install emacs or vim, login to your own computer from work and code.

You could setup a secure shell server on windows, but I don't know of any console text editors that have syntax highlighting on windows. You can get xemacs and gvim, but they aren't console programs.

[Formerly "capn_midnight". See some of my projects. Find me on twitter tumblr G+ Github.]

Offhand, I don't know of any online java editors. If you're running Windows XP, consider remotely connecting to your computer using its built in technology or netmeeting through Start->Run->type "conf". If you're running an older version of windows, also look into netmeeting. It's a powerful program that also allows remote access to your computer.