Sign in to follow this  
andyb716

ID3DXSprite?

Can anyone tell how to use sprites in Direct3D. Do you just make an instance of it and set it to use a bitmap for the texture. And how do you move it around the screen. I looked at the msdn documentation and I don't know how to implement these functions. I'm a real newbie to this so any comments would help. Thanks to everyone.

I read in the msdn documentation that the Draw method has a parameter for a texture. Do I have to call this in between the Begin and End Method? It has a position also that is a D3DXVECTOR3, do I update the vector every time I want it to move?

It's very easy. You do it like this:
// Load-time
(1) Create the ID3DXSprite object, using the D3DXCreateSprite factory function.

(2) Load your textures

// Run-time
(1) Call ID3DXSprite::Begin()

(2) For each texture you want to render
(a) - Build and apply the translation matrix for a world-space translation
or
- Build the position vector for a screen-space translation
(b) Call ID3DXSprite::Draw()

(3) Call ID3DXSprite::End()

Don't think of D3DXSprite as an object or anything related to an instance of a single sprite. That's incorrect.

Instead, just view it as some extra code packaged into a single interface. You create a D3DXSprite to pull that code into memory, like loading a DLL; call through the ID3DXSprite interface to use the functions provided by that DLL; and then release the interface, like unloading a DLL. If you had a DLL providing behaviour for a specific enemy in your game, you wouldn't load it once per enemy...

Quote:
Original post by circlesoft
** Code Snippet **

Déjà Vu?

Andy: you have to load the texture into an textureobject, and then use a single instance of ID3DXSprite to draw all your textures.

Quote:
Original post by Pipo DeClown
Quote:
Original post by circlesoft
** Code Snippet **

Déjà Vu?

[grin]