Sign in to follow this  
Astaelan

Client/Server design question

Astaelan    122
Hello, I'm relatively new to 3D game programming, and as such I decided to try with the simplest approach I could find, which was to use C#.NET in combination with something like RealmForge, Axiom, or Purple#. I've played a bit with each, liking what each has to offer, but I haven't settled on anything yet because one major question still burns in my mind. Here is the scenario, let's take a game like Diablo, and make it more massive online play oriented. Not a complicated idea overall, except my lack of knowledge in this area falls short. How would you deal with the server with regards to handling monster movement? This raises 1 major question for me, and that is how you go about designing a server, so that it loads enough information to handle simple collision detection? I would like to offload as much from the server as possible, so if it's possible to avoid having to prerender every map that would be great. I'm thinking there should be some way, by only tracking coordinate information to have an acceptable system. I would be satisfied if there was an easy way to have the server identify a target, and movement would be based on moving towards the character. The problem here, resides in the static environment that the NPC would walk through. It seems unreasonable to have the client the NPC is tracking to tell the server they went over things (hacking prevention). So this is where I'm hoping some guru's with some experience in this field can shed some light on an idea I haven't considered. Essentially, complicated path finding is not something I'm worried about. Just so long as the monster can give chase, and upon hitting an obstruction, is prevented from moving forward, and perhaps goes back to an idle wandering if the character they were chasing gets a certain distance. I don't know if it's possible to avoid loading the heightmap for every map, and all the static items in a virtual p