Space Environment

Started by
28 comments, last by jason83 19 years, 8 months ago
Hey there, I am using the DirectX 9 API in C++. I am working in a team to create a space based massively multiplayer online roll playing game. The problem i have is that i wish to create a space environment with stars etc. I was advised that a way to do this is by using a sphere, and map a texture on the sphere. My first question is if i texture the sphere, will the textures be visable from inside the sphere (which is where all the objects of the game will be located). The sphere will be huge. If this is a good way to do it, could someone explain how it can be achieved, as i have got some 3d models, and when the camera is placed inside, the model textures cannot be seen. If there is another way to do this, please explain this also. I am a relatively new directx developer, and this is my first project. Thank you for reading my post ;)
Advertisement
Hi there FMD, welcome to GameDev. There's a special place in my heart for space games (check my sig for my game [smile]). The way we render outer space in my game is inside a cube. Take a cube and flip the normals so the polygons are actually facing in. Then place the camera in the center of cube, and texture the inside with six nice space backdrop textures. Then you have to make sure the camera never leaves the exact center of the cube so you can maintain the illusion that you're surrounded by space. If you do a search on here for "skyboxes", you'll find all kinds of info. I think the DirectX SDK even has a demo application explaining skyboxes. Check out the video of my game to see how this works.

Much luck to you on your project! Have a great day,

Ryan Buhr

Technical Lead | Sector 13

Reactor Interactive, LLC

Facebook | Twitter

Thanks very much. Im too lazy to create a cube and flip it, so ill ask my 3d Artist to instead lol. :)

Thanks again