Sign in to follow this  
MYoung

How do I get relative mouse movement?

I'm a newb to Windows programming. I'm trying to get relative mouse input. I tried a search but didn't find any code. I can get the mouse coordinates, but for moving my camera with the mouse, when the mouse pointer hits the edges of the screen it cannot move any further so that when I'm calculating the delta mouse position it's 0 and thus, no camera movement. Maybe there's a way to get the mouse to wrap around the screen when it tried to go off the screen edges? I'm using VC++ 6.0. Here is a snippet of my code...
LRESULT CALLBACK WndProc(HWND hWnd,			// Handle For This Window
			UINT	uMsg,			// Message For This Window
			WPARAM	wParam,			// Additional Message Information
			LPARAM	lParam)			// Additional Message Information
{
	switch (uMsg) {					// Check For Windows Messages

case WM_MOUSEMOVE: {

// Here's a quick break down of the information we can get from this
			// message

int flags = wParam; 	// "flags" contains flags that say whether certain
					   	// virtual keys (such as the CTRL key) are being pushed or not
						// More info on this is supplied at the bottom of this file

int xPos = LOWORD(lParam);  	// This gives us the horizontal (the X position) of
							// the cursor

int yPos = HIWORD(lParam);  	// This gives us the vertical (the Y position) of
							// the cursor

Maybe the answer is to use SetCursorPos to reset the cursor position after checking the delta movement upon cursor movement? I'll have to give that a shot.

[Edited by - MYoung on August 18, 2004 4:31:34 PM]

Thats what I do.

// App init
int ScreenCenterX = 320;
int ScreenCenterY = 240;

int OldMouseX = ScreenCenterX;
int OldMouseY = ScreenCenterY;
//WndProc
int MouseDeltaX = 0;
int MouseDeltaY = 0;

case WM_MOUSEMOVE:
MouseDeltaX = ScreenCenterX - LOWORD(lParam);
MouseDeltaY = ScreenCenterY - HIWORD(lParam);
SetCursorPos(ScreenCenterX, ScreenCenterY);
break;