Sign in to follow this  

New. What do I need to learn to make a web-based game? (sort of like old BBS games)

This topic is 4861 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello there everyone! I'm new to everything (know how to write basic html websites) and I'm wondering what it is that I need to learn to do what it is that I want to do! I'm looking to make my own web-based game, that is kind of similar in fashion to those old BBS games like Legend of the Red Dragon, and TradeWars 2002! :) I was surfing around on the web and came across this game called FaitH. While I don't really like their game, I *do* however like the fashion that it is in! (it pops up in a window from your browser, and you play the game through it, no downloading of a "client" necessary!) Here's a picture in the game manual of a small part of what the game looks like a bit: http://www.dragonclawstudio.com/faith/rpg/manual/?pg=20 Well, you can only get a small feel for what it looks like from that pic. Basically though, like I said, if you ever played Legend of the Red Dragon, or TradeWars2002, you know pretty much what I'm after here. Something of that sort, that can be played on the web. I'd like for it to eventually turn into something that many people play, and that I can charge a small fee for. (hey, alot of users + small fee adds up :D ) Soooooo! Do any of you have *any* idea of what I need to start learning to make my dream a reality? I'm sure it's probably alot, but I need to start somewhere! Please let me know what I need to learn and I'll start learning it! Thanks! :) ~RedSwan

Well, obviously you need to design the game, work out the mechanics and all those little technicalities.