Sign in to follow this  

Textures: Power of 2 and Maximum Size

This topic is 4869 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, I'm new to 3D-Coding but tried some things out which led me to the following questions regarding texture sizes: 1.) In some books they say that textures should be powers of 2 (128x128, 64x64 and so on) since they wouldn't run on some Hardware otherwise. Is this still applicable today or is all Hardware on the market ready to work with textures which aren't powers of 2? And if it should be necessary what do I do exactly to achieve textures which aren't powers of 2? 2.) I read that maximum texture sizes are a problem and I shouldn't use them over 1024x786. Is this true and if yes how can I use big textures then? Thanks in advance.

1) Non-power of two textures are supported in some drivers for newer hardware, yet most people still use power of two textures, because it is not as large of an inconvinience as it may sound. Just because the texture is a power of two does not mean that the entire texture must be drawn in each pass, as you learn more you'll learn about TexCoords which can control the portion of a texture which is drawn.

2) large textures do use a lot of memory, and video memory is a finite resource, the max texture sizes can be obtained via your API of choice, but it is rare to need textures that large in typical development. This too is only a minor setback since it is possible to split up your large image(s) into multiple textures.

(edit: sorry about the API of choice thing, I didn't realize that this was the DirectX forum, I believe in Direct3D 9 you want the MaxTextureWidth/MaxTextureHeight members of the D3DCAPS9 structure)

During load, D3DX will scale your textures automatically.
Loading might fail if the texture is too big, though.