Memory leaks? Code Optimization?

Started by
12 comments, last by darookie 19 years, 8 months ago
ok, so obviously, im just getting started with C++ programming. i havent gone any further than console apps at this point, so i havent run into pretty much any problems. so i was wondering what types of things cause "memory leaks"? and while we're at it, what the heck is a memory leak?? also, when someone says they need to do some "code optimization" what does this mean, and could i get some sort of example?? thanks guys
Silence! I'm Psychoflexing...
Advertisement
A memory leak in the strictest sense is allocating some memory and not freeing thus "leaking" memory.

i.e.
main()
{
while(1)
{
char* something=new char[200];
}
}

That will eventually eat all the memory on your machine ( very bad don't try it )

Code optimisation is fundementally going through for code making it run faster, finding quicker way to calculate stuff finding faster code paths
i.e.

Slow code
for (int i=0;i<100;i++)
a=1;
for (int i=0;i<100;i++)
a+i;

Faster code
for (int i=0;i<100;i++)
a=1+i;

these are extremely simplified examples but hopefully they get to the point
When you encounter a memory leak you allocated memory but you didn't release it at the end of your program. So when you program isn't running any more your allocated memory is still there and no other program can overwrite that memory. The memory will only be deleted when you restart your computer.

Code optimization:
Just what it says optimizing your code, make it better, faster, or whatever

Bas
GBS
A "Memory Leak" is a piece of memory that your program requested from the Operating System, but neglected to return it back, on exit.