Queston to all musicians here.

Started by
26 comments, last by zircon_st 19 years, 7 months ago
I am curious, how many of you are 'serious' musicians? By serious, I mean you have been studying music or an instrument for years, and/or plan to go into the field for a career, and/or have/plan to major in something music-related in college. I say 'serious' because I know that there are a lot of home musicians that might play in a garage band or sequence a few MIDIs now and then, but have no intent on doing it professionally or even continuing it later into their life.
http://www.zirconstudios.com/ - original music for video games, film, and TV.
Advertisement
I, for one, have 8 years of experience with trumpet and am seriously considering studying music composition/theory in college and would very much like to make a career of composing music. I've been composing at an 'ameteur' level for maybe 4 or 5 years now, and would like to take it to the next level. If you're interested, some samples of my work can be found at:

http://www.acidplanet.com/artist.asp?AID=292875&T=8963
I've studied voice for 20 years, and piano for 5, I am currently in college studying for a Bachelor of Music degree in composition...I already support myself musically pretty well, and will definitely be fully supported by my art when I graduate from school.

-Wain
keyboards 11 years, guitar 5 years. 6 years composition. Studied 2 year National Diploma in Music Tech, 2 years Foundation Degree in Music Tech and Audio Engineering. Currently applying for audio related jobs as well as working freelance. Its a difficult career to get into!!!!

Zircon, out of interest, what is it you do or plan to do as your career?
---------------------Dave HaslamComposer/Sound Designer/ProducerRhythm-Attic Studioswww.rattic.co.uk
I've been composing for 2.5 years now. I'm self-taught, and no lessons at all. I don't play in a band, although I do play drums and the piano (a little).